2017 AccessU Summit

AccessU 2017 Summit: A virtual conference on digital accessibility techniques and policies

Thursday, May 18th, 2017 

Presented in partnership with Environments for Humans, the program will feature some of the most engaging, dynamic accessibility experts available, presenting a variety of topics throughout the day.

AccessU Summit is a part of the John Slatin AccessU Conference taking place at St. Edwards University, in Austin, Texas.

2017 AccessU Summit line-up

PM-Led Accessibility: Level Up Yourself and Your Team
by Robert Jolly
10 AM ET / 9 AM CT

The Project Manager (PM) is responsible for ensuring all aspects of projects run smoothly, on-time, and meet numerous requirements.

Often, accessibility is a key project requirement that is overlooked or misunderstood. PMs can be the champions for accessibility their teams need.

In this session, Jolly will present a framework using real-world experiences to shepherd even the most stubborn team members into practicing their craft with accessibility in mind.

Implementing Accessibility Strategically
by Jeff Kline
11AM ET / 10 AM CT

While laws, regulations and standards for making IT accessible have been in effect for over a decade, adoption in both public and private sectors has been painfully slow.

One overarching inhibitor to IT accessibility that is rarely identified, even when an organization is relatively committed to make its products and services accessible, is that the organization itself is not enabled for addressing IT accessibility in all its dimensions.

When considering the accessibility of all of an organization’s IT including external products, services, and its complex internal IT environment, e-learning, etc., a comprehensive, holistic approach needed.

This session deals with IT Accessibility at a strategic level and will cover a number of topics key to a successful accessibility program:

Accessibility policy development process
Accessibility organizational structure
Program costs and funding models
Collaborative teams
Technical considerations
Setting priorities
Implementation frameworks and operating plans

Digital Accessibility Legal Update 2017
by Lainey Feingold
12 PM ET / 11 AM CT

What does the law say about web and mobile accessibility?

We still do not have web regulations in the U.S. for private companies or for state and local governments, but the U.S. Department of Justice has settled a significant number of cases requiring web and mobile accessibility for people with disabilities. Other federal agencies are doing important web work, too. In this session, we will:

Explore those settlements and look at what courts are saying about the legal right to access digital content.
Speculate about the future of federal regulations and give a shout out to companies who have voluntarily engaged in Structured Negotiation with the disability community without lawsuits to improve the usability of their digital content.

Consider the recent spate of demand letters and lawsuits about web access that some on social media are calling accessibility trolls.
Touch briefly on what’s happening in digital accessibility law just over the border and around the world.

WCAG 2.1 and Silver (AG)
by Glenda Sims
1 PM ET / 12 pm CT

Are you staying on top of your accessibility game? Don’t be caught by surprise that a new version of WCAG is on the horizon.

WCAG 2.1 – The next “minor” version of WCAG is being drafted right now! The W3C has been researching user needs and writing proposed WCAG 2.1 success criteria to fill known gaps.

Silver – A parallel effort is also in motion to create a major revision of digital accessibility guidelines. The code name for this major revision is Silver.

Come to this session and learn how WCAG 2.0, 2.1, Silver, ATAG and UAAG relate to each other. Discover three areas of known gaps in WCAG 2.0. Dive in and look at a proposed WCAG 2.1 Success Criterion that is very likely to be approved. Dig in deeper to see what a proposed Success Criterion looks like that is still undergoing research, discussion and refinement. Last, but not least, we will look ahead and predict when WCAG 2.1 and Silver might be finalized.

A glimpse into the future of WCAG 2.1 and Silver will help you be a better accessibility expert today!

Writing Great Alt Text
by Whitney Quesenbery
3 PM ET / 2 PM CT

One of the simplest ways to make information more accessible is to add alternative text (alt text for short). It’s brief descriptions of images for users who can’t see them. But what to write? This is a deep dive into writing alt text that is usable and useful. You’ll learn how the right words can make images speak clearly.

Progressive Enhancement and Accessibility
by Dennis Lembree
4 PM ET / 3 PM CT

In this session, the meaning of Progressive Enhancement is explained and how it benefits Web users. The theoretical difference between Progressive Enhancement and “graceful degradation” is also discussed.

Examples of how Progressive Enhancement is implemented using HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and ARIA are provided and explained. Learn how Progressive Enhancement may positively and may negatively affect accessibility. Attendees will be shown how to develop basic examples of accessible web content using Progressive Enhancement

Testimonials from Attendees

This conference was a load of fun. I loved the instant feedback from the speakers and the atmosphere”. John-David Dalton, Web Application Developer & Web Performance Summit Attendee

An absolutely fantastic event. Well done—will definitely be back for more! Russ Weakley, Chair of Web Standards Group & CSS Summit Attendee

Register Now!